State Championship Cyclocross Race

Congratulations to our 4 State Champions:

  • Bjorn Blankenship 10-12
  • Zane Strait 13-14
  • Ian Brown 15-16
  • Kylie Eckert 17-18

The course was a blast and it was interesting hearing how some thought it was good prep for Nationals and others disagreed — my take was that the power-sections and bumpy sections were excellent practice for Nationals because the radius of the turns and ability to stand up in a big gear to either rest or attack were very similar and go toward building explosive accelerations out of every turn– and the run-ups were good because we got to practice some high-speed dismounts. But the traction and rhythm of the course were very different.

All in all, those on the Team who raced reported feeling very strong and confident, and everyone looked smooth and controlled — so great work and keep it up for a few more weeks!